Departmental forum

NMIT Hacks 2020

The Third Edition of the college's annual National Level Hackathon, “NMIT Hacks 2020”, was hosted by the Department of CS& E in January 2020. M/S Comviva a Tech Mahindra company was the sponsors and IDP Education, Manya Education, CyberDX Technologies, Knowledge Foundry, Sakha Global, and Netallawere the co-sponsors. Students from IITs, NITs, BITS, and also from Pondicherry, Tirupati, Coimbatore, Mysore, Chennai, Tumkur, Karur, Shimoga, and Bangalore participated in the event. More than 200 idea submissions were received, containing innovative technological solutions in the domains of IoT, AI, ML, Blockchain, and Embedded Systems to name a few.

Prof. N.R. Shetty (Hon'ble Chancellor, Central University of Karnataka, Kalaburgi and Advisor, NMIT) and eminent persons from the industry Mr. Manoj Kumar (CEO, Pinaacle Tech and Chairman, IFCI) and Mr. Aditya Dhruva (CTO, Comviva and CEO, Factoreal) presided in the inaugural ceremony. Also, in attendance were Dr. H.C. Nagaraj (Principal, NMIT), Shri. Rohit Punja (Administrator), Dr. V. Sridhar (Dean Academic), and Prof. L.M. Patnaik (Advisor Technical). Dr. Thippeswamy M. N. (Head, Department of CS & E, NMIT) was the key person in organizing and completion of the event. The submissions were evaluated by a team of industrial experts: Mr. Uamsi Kollipara and Mr.Chandan K. Ghosh (Mahindra Comviva), Mr. Amith S. B. and Mr. Yatishkumar K.P. (Sakha Global), Mr. Abhilasha and Mr. Srinivas (Unisys), Mr. Supreet (Subex) and Mr.Devesh Hegde (Entrepreneur, Fly Camp, also Alumni 2017 Batch).

Winners are

The winners were offered an internship along with special gift packs by M/S Mahindra Comviva.

Inauguration of NMIT Hacks 2020
Hackathon Core team with Winners and Participants

Departmental Associations

The student branch association CRYPTEC organizes various activities throughout the year. All students of the department are members of the association. The department is bringing out a bi-annual newsletter ARETHA. The first volume of ARETHA was published in the year 2008. Since 2009, the Newsletter is published twice a year.

CRYPTEC – 2020

The Inaugural function of Cryptec - Branch Association for the Academic year 2020-21 was held on 11th December 2020 through the Online Mode. Dr. T.V. Ravi, Senior IP Counsel, Philips Intellectual Property and Standards, Philips India Ltd, Bangalore was the Chief Guest for the inaugural ceremony.

CRYPTEC – 2019

The department forum CRYPTEC-2019 was inaugurated in November 2019.The Chief Guest of the event was Ms. Mona Bharadwaj (Head of University relations IBM India), the Guest of Honor was Ms. Poornima Iyengar (University relations IBM India), and also Mr. Dinakara Guniguntala (IBM India).

Release of Aretha Magazine during Inauguration of CRYPTEC 2019

CRYPTEC - 2018

The department forum CRYPTEC was inaugurated in October 2018. The chief guest of the day was Dr. M. H. Kori Chairman, MAPS & Former Technical Director, Alcatel Lucent Technologies. The bi-annual newsletter ARETHA was also released by the dignitaries.

Aretha Newsletter Release 2018
Aretha Newsletter Release 2018


The department forum CRYPTEC was organized in October 2017. The chief guests of the day were Mr. Sanjeev Kubbakaddi, CEO & Founder, ITIE Knowledge Solutions, Executive council Member, VTU, and Mr. Vigneswaran Paranmathayalan, Principal Consultant, CloudBull. Mr. Sanjeev has appreciated the student's achievements and motivated them to involve more in all the curricular and co-curricular activities.

Inauguration of CRYPTEC-2017
Release of Aretha Magazine Volume 10, Issue 1

NMIT HACKATHON held on January 23rd and 24th, 2019

The Department of CSE organized this national level event which attracted more than 500 registrations from coding enthusiasts and ideas from 120 teams, this event was one of the biggest of its kind. Among the 120 teams, 41 were selected for the offline round based on their innovative ideas. The top 10 teams among the 41 were selected for the final presentation. Seven experts from the industry judged the solutions provided by each of the top ten teams during the final round and ranked them. The top 3 were awarded with prizes worth Rs. 40,000 along with free “Progate” subscription for one and a half years.

The top three teams were Chatur_Chikitsa from PES University, ZeRo_BuG from NMIT and Illuminati_4 from NMIT.

ZeRo_BuG Team members of CSE and ISE from NMIT (2nd place)
K.P.Gaurav ,(CSE) ,Shrey Ambesh (CSE),
Pakki Anoop (CSE) ,Sarang Parikh (ISE 3rd Year)

NMIT HACKATHON held on FEBRUARY 9th and 10th, 2018

Dr. M.N. Thippeswamy HoD-CSE addressing the participants

NMIT, in partnership with Skillenza, organized the IoT and ML Hack of 2017-18. In an age where technology grows exponentially with time, we, the Department of CSE NMIT, aimed to rally the country’s top coders to present and develop their unique and innovative IoT and ML solutions. In order to short list the number of teams, our hack had two online rounds - an ideation round and a coding round. For the final offline hack at NMIT, the top 20 teams were invited to our campus to develop their idea and stand a chance to win cash prizes worth 15k, 12.5k and 10k.

OUR THEME - IOT AND ML In keeping with the progress of our times, the Department of Computer Science and Engineering, NMIT proposed the theme of Internet of Things(IoT) and Machine Learning(ML) as the main focus of our Hackathon.

The concepts of IoT and ML combined form an extremely powerful basis for many Artificial Intelligence concepts seen in the world today.

HOW IT WORKED Round 1 was an Ideation round where the teams submitted their problem statement and proposed solution. This round carried 50% weightage of the total marks.

Round 2 was a coding round in which the teams had to solve two pure coding problems which carried the remaining 50% weightage. At this stage, announced the top 20 teams and they received an invitation for the offline hack. Round 3 was the 24 hour offline hack at NMIT.

The team from Ramaiah Institute of Technology called the CodeRunners consisting of Naman, Monish and Sanath, who developed a smart solution to parking using Image Processing won the first prize. In close second was a team from our very own NMIT comprising of Tejas, Harsha and Sagnik, who had developed object recognition software based on processed images. They were followed by another team from our college Chirag and Amruth who developed an obstacle detecting bot.

Students presenting to the panel